Regina Corridor, Ethan Hawke & Glenn Shut Reward Unbiased Movies

Award season is lastly upon us!

Sizzling on the heels of the Golden Globes noms, right here come the 37th Movie Unbiased Spirit Awards. Naomi Watts, Beanie Feldstein and Regina Corridor joined Movie Unbiased president Josh Welsh in a pre-recorded video announcement to introduce the 12 months's contenders on Tuesday, Dec. 14.

Janicza Bravo's Zola, which was adapted from an epic 148-tweet thread a few dancer's violent and chaotic journey via Florida after falling in with a grifter, led the pack of nominees with seven nods—together with Greatest Function, Greatest Screenplay, Greatest Director and Greatest Feminine Lead for Taylour Paige's efficiency of the titular character.

In the meantime, Lauren Hadaway's The Novice scored 5 nominations and Maggie Gyllenhaal's The Misplaced Daughter acquired 4 nods.

For the second time in its historical past, this 12 months's Spirit Awards nominations additionally included 5 tv awards. Nominees within the Greatest New Scripted Sequence class included Blindspotting, It is a Sin, Reservation Canine, The Underground Railroad and We Are Woman Elements, whereas stars in The White Lotus and Squid Recreation have been acknowledged for Greatest Male Efficiency in a New Scripted Sequence.

Winners of the 37th Movie Unbiased Spirit Awards might be introduced at an in-person ceremony held on Sunday, March 6, 2022. The awards might be broadcasted completely on IFC.

For now, see the total listing of nominees beneath.


Greatest Function

A Chiara

C'mon C'mon

The Misplaced Daughter

The Novice


Greatest First Function

7 Days


Queen of Glory

Take a look at Sample 

Wild Indian

Greatest Director

Janicza Bravo, Zola 

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Misplaced Daughter

Lauren Hadaway, The Novice

Mike Mills, C'mon C'mon

Ninja Thyberg, Pleasure

Greatest Screenplay

Nikole Beckwith, Collectively Collectively

Janicza Bravo and Jeremy O. Harris, Zola

Maggie Gyllenhaal, The Misplaced Daughter

Mike Mills, C'mon C'mon

Todd Stephens , Swan Track


Greatest First Screenplay

Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr., Wild Indian 

Matt Fifer; Story by Sheldon D. Brown, Cicada

Shatara Michelle Ford, Take a look at Sample 

Fran Kranz, Mass 

Michael Sarnoski; Story by Vanessa Block and Michael Sarnoski, Pig

Greatest Cinematography

Ante Cheng and Matthew Chuang, Blue Bayou 

Lol Crawley, The People

Tim Curtin, A Chiara

Edu Grau, Passing

Ari Wegner, Zola

Greatest Enhancing

Affonso Gonçalves, A Chiara

Ali Greer, The Nowhere Inn

Lauren Hadaway and Nathan Nugent, The Novice

Joi McMillon, Zola

Enrico Natale, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

IFC Movies

Greatest Feminine Lead 

Isabelle Fuhrman, The Novice

Brittany S. Corridor, Take a look at Sample

Patti Harrison, Collectively Collectively

Taylour Paige, Zola

Kali Reis, Catch the Truthful One

Greatest Male Lead

Clifton Collins Jr., Jockey 

Frankie Faison, The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

Michael Greyeyes, Wild Indian

Udo Kier, Swan Track

Simon Rex, Purple Rocket

Greatest Supporting Feminine

Jessie Buckley, The Misplaced Daughter

Amy Forsyth, The Novice

Ruth Negga, Passing

Revika Reustle, Pleasure

Suzanna Son, Purple Rocket

Greatest Supporting Male

Colman Domingo, Zola

Meeko Gattuso, Queen of Glory

Troy Kotsur, CODA

Will Patton, Candy Factor

Chaske Spencer, Wild Indian

Noh Juhan / Netflix

Greatest New Non-Scripted Documentary Sequence

Black and Lacking

The Choe Present

The Woman and the Dale

Nuclear Household

Philly D.A.

Greatest New Scripted Sequence


It is a Sin

Reservation Canine

The Underground Railroad

We Are Woman Elements

Greatest Feminine Efficiency in a New Scripted Sequence

Thuso Mbedu, The Underground Railroad

Anjana Vasan, We Are Woman Elements

Jana Schmieding, Rutherford Falls

Jasmine Cephus Jones, Blindspotting

Deborah Ayorinde, THEM: Covenant

Greatest Male Efficiency in a New Scripted Sequence

Lee Jung-jae, Squid Recreation 

Olly Alexander, It is a Sin 

Michael Greyeyes, Rutherford Falls

Murray Bartlett, The White Lotus

Ashley Thomas, THEM: Covenant

Greatest Ensemble Solid in a New Scripted Sequence

Reservation Canine

Greatest Documentary



Within the Identical Breath


Summer season Of Soul (...Or, When the Revolution Might Not Be Televised)

Greatest Worldwide Movie

Compartment No. 6 (Finland/Russia)

Drive My Automotive (Japan)

Parallel Moms (Spain)

Pebbles (India)

Petite Maman (France)

Prayers for the Stolen (Mexico)

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the most effective characteristic made for below $500,000)



Shiva Child

Candy Factor 

That is Not a Warfare Story

Robert Altman Award (Given to 1 movie's director, casting director and ensemble forged)


Producers Award

Brad Becker-Parton

Pin-Chun Liu

Lizzie Shapiro

Somebody to Watch Award

Alex Camilleri, Luzzu

Michael Sarnoski, Pig

Gillian Wallace Horvat, I Blame Society

More true Than Fiction Award

Angelo Madsen Minax, North By Present

Jessica Beshir, Faya Dayi

Debbie Lum, Attempt More durable!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here